Home > Licensing > Re-Licensure Following Termination
Re-Licensure Following Termination
REQUIREMENTS FOR RE-LICENSURE FOLLOWING TERMINATION
RE-LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS: If you voluntarily terminated your licensure or were administratively terminated by the Board for non-payment of your license renewal when it was due, you may apply for re-licensure. You may be re-licensed after complying with all laws and rules required of applicants for examination and licensure and after verifying that you have not practiced psychology in this state since the date of termination. According to Minnesota Rule 7200.3610, the fee for re-licensure following termination is the licensure fee in effect at the time of application for re-licensure, and rules governing re-licensure are the rules in effect at the time the initial license was granted.
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RE-LICENSURE: If you hold a license in another jurisdiction and have been practicing there, the Board will need to receive verification that you have met the continuing education requirements of the other jurisdiction since termination of your Minnesota psychology license. You must have the other jurisdiction(s) send verification directly to the Minnesota Board. If you have not held a license to practice in another jurisdiction, and have not practiced psychology since terminating your Minnesota psychology license, you must provide the Board with evidence that you have completed at least 40 hours of continuing education activities that meet Minnesotaís continuing education requirements.
PRACTICE WITHOUT A LICENSE: According to Minnesota Rule 7200.3620, if you have practiced psychology in Minnesota since the date of termination of your psychology license, you are subject to disciplinary action at the time a new license is granted or to denial of licensure.
MASTERíS LEVEL FORMER LICENSEES RETURNING TO PRACTICE IN MINNESOTA AT THE DOCTORAL LEVEL: If you terminated your Minnesota licensure as a masterís level licensed psychologist, and you wish to be licensed again as a masterís level licensed psychologist, follow the procedures outlined in this packet. However, if you terminated your Minnesota licensure as a masterís level licensed psychologist, you have since earned a doctoral degree with a major in psychology, and now you wish to become licensed as a doctoral level licensed psychologist, please contact the Board office and request licensure information. Your process to licensure will be slightly different requiring a different set of forms.
Steps toward Re-licensure:
1. An application for the Minnesota state examination, the Professional Responsibility Examination (PRE). This is a current requirement for licensure. If you took the Minnesota state examination before May 24, 1994, you will need to pass the PRE prior to re-licensure. If applicable, please complete and return the application for admission to the PRE along with the $150 non-refundable processing fee.
2. An application for re-licensure. Please complete and return the form with the current, non-refundable licensure fee of $550.00.
3. A form for reporting continuing education (CE) activities, if applicable. If you have not held a license to practice psychology in another jurisdiction and have not practiced psychology since termination of your Minnesota licensure, please complete this form and submit the requested documentation. Minnesota rules require that you provide evidence of completion of 40 CE hours meeting this stateís requirements.
After reviewing the materials, please complete and return the applicable forms, along with your notarized statement attesting to whether or not you have practiced psychology in this state since termination. You should also contact the Board of any other jurisdiction in which you hold a license, and have that jurisdiction send an official verification of your licensure directly to this Board, along with a statement regarding whether you have met their continuing education requirements during the time you held a license in that jurisdiction.
The Application Review Committee (ARC) will review your completed application at a regularly scheduled meeting. The ARC will recommend an action to the full Board.
The full Board will then deliberate at its next regularly scheduled meeting, and make a final decision on your application(s).
We will contact you to let you know the Boardís decision on your PRE application, if applicable, and your re-licensure application materials.
All forms are available for download here.